HomeSUGGESTIONS & FEATURE REQUESTS

Recommend a feature for future StresStimulus versions.

Send test report with meaningful name. Messages in this topic - RSS

DSF
DSF
Posts: 29


8/23/2021
DSF
DSF
Posts: 29
Hi,

Currently when you set StresStimulus to create result reports it names the report the actual .ssconfig name and time of execution in a folder of choice like so:
C:\reports\AcmeLoadTest_2021-Aug-20_17.21 making it easily identifiable and sortable.

However when you set StresStimulus to mail out the test report it zips the file simply as "Result.zip" and mails it out. This makes it rather difficult to quickly see which test has just completed and needs to be unzipped to be looked at first. Also makes it difficult to search mail inboxes for specific test results.

Please could you change the mail report .zip naming convention to be the same as the actual results report name and execution time i.e. "AcmeLoadTest_2021-Aug-20_17.21.zip" this will make life a lot easer for automated tests in CI/CD pipelines being fired off daily and results mailed out.

Thank you.

DSF.
0 link
George @StresStimulus
George @StresStimulus
Administrator
Posts: 554


9/13/2021
George @StresStimulus
George @StresStimulus
Administrator
Posts: 554
Thank you for your suggestion. This feature was implemented in v5.5 beta. You can download the beta version here.

- Cheers
0 link
DSF
DSF
Posts: 29


9/28/2021
DSF
DSF
Posts: 29
Hi George,

Thanks for the feedback.

I am on 5.5 Beta now and did a test run and now the zip file contains the test run date which is great but it does not tell me the test name.

So the ideal would be if that '_Untitled' is replaced with the actual .ssconfig file name. For example if I have a test named "AcmeLoadtest.ssconfig" it would be great if that zip file display 2021_09_28_16_43_35_AcmeLoadtest or even AcmeLoadtest_'datetime'. That will make filtering on executed AcmeLoadtest reports much easier compared to an untitled but dated test report. Hope that makes sense.
Regards.
DSF.
0 link
George @StresStimulus
George @StresStimulus
Administrator
Posts: 554


9/29/2021
George @StresStimulus
George @StresStimulus
Administrator
Posts: 554
It should work as you described. It says _Untitled most likely because the test was not saved before running, and therefore has no meaningful name. Save the test with the name you wish and run it again. Then check the name of the .zip file. It should have the name of your test. Let me know if your beta version works differently and I will ask our QA team to re-test.


- Cheers
0 link
DSF
DSF
Posts: 29


10/7/2021
DSF
DSF
Posts: 29
My bad, I did not define the test name when running SS via commandline. Works as expected when using /test-name Blah in the commandline or via UI.
Thank you.
0 link






Copyright © 2024 Stimulus Technology