HomeSUPPORT QUESTIONS

Need help with StresStimulus? Start here.

Question about Request Body Parameter Messages in this topic - RSS

ter
ter
Posts: 12


8/25/2014
ter
ter
Posts: 12
We need to use a Dataset VU-Iter-Bound parameter in a request body.
The original request body looked like this:
... {"Patient":{"PatientCode":"{076829e9-9774-4a3d-883c-20e7aa960488}"},"...
We need the GUID to come from the Dataset for each VU and Iteration and so tried this:
... {"Patient":{"PatientCode":"{{{PatientCodeDataset.PATIENTCODE$VU-Iter-Bound}}}"},"...
But the resulting requests look like this:
":{"Patient":{"PatientCode":"{{{PatientCodeDataset.PATIENTCODE$VU-Iter-Bound}}}"},"
in other words, nothing no substitution took place.
If I add a space between { and {{,
... {"Patient":{"PatientCode":"{ {{PatientCodeDataset.PATIENTCODE$VU-Iter-Bound}} }"},"...
Stressstimulus will parametrize the requests:
... {"Patient":{"PatientCode":"{ 076829e9-9774-4a3d-883c-20e7aa960488 }"},"...
but unfortunately, the request, with the additional space, is not valid in the eyes of the software we are testing (we cannot have the space in the request).
Is there a workaround?

Thanks,
Ter


0 link
Vadim @StresStimulus
Vadim @StresStimulus
Administrator
Posts: 583


8/26/2014
Vadim @StresStimulus
Vadim @StresStimulus
Administrator
Posts: 583
Ter,
I can offer you the following workaround. Instead of parameterizing GUID, try parameterizing GUID in "curly braces". To so, in the dataset update all entries to be surrounded by "curly braces".
After creating a parameter, the request will look like
... {"Patient":{"PatientCode":"{{PatientCodeDataset.PATIENTCODE$VU-Iter-Bound}}"},"...
 
Does this make sense?

-Vadim
0 link
ter
ter
Posts: 12


8/26/2014
ter
ter
Posts: 12
Hello Vadim:
Thanks for the prompt follow up, as always.
Using ... {"Patient":{"PatientCode":"{{PatientCodeDataset.PATIENTCODE$VU-Iter-Bound}}"},"...
allows Stressstimulus to generate the GUIDs correctly:
      ":{"Patient":{"PatientCode":"000e1fe9-53bb-40c4-91f7-e87400f65684"},"
but unfortunately not in the format accepted by our REST API. The API expects an object and therefore the GUID to be surrounded by curly braces. Do you have any other suggestion?
0 link
Vadim @StresStimulus
Vadim @StresStimulus
Administrator
Posts: 583


8/26/2014
Vadim @StresStimulus
Vadim @StresStimulus
Administrator
Posts: 583
Hello Ter, 
The workaround did not work because you missed the 1-st step:
in the dataset update all entries to be surrounded by "curly braces".

 
Here's the example: If the original data set looks like:
076829e9-9774-4a3d-883c-20e7aa960488
076829e9-9774-4a3d-883c-20e7aa960489
 
then you need to change it to:

{076829e9-9774-4a3d-883c-20e7aa960488}
{076829e9-9774-4a3d-883c-20e7aa960489}

The change has to be done in the Dataset  section. As a result, the parameterized request will keep its formatting.

Does this make sense?

-Vadim
0 link
ter
ter
Posts: 12


8/27/2014
ter
ter
Posts: 12
I missed the part about modifying the dataset in your reply! Great workaround, although we have parts of the code that requires the use of the same GUID without the curly braces, per VU, per Iteration. Can this be an considered an enhancement request?
But for now that workaround should work just fine.
Thanks you.
0 link
Vadim @StresStimulus
Vadim @StresStimulus
Administrator
Posts: 583


8/27/2014
Vadim @StresStimulus
Vadim @StresStimulus
Administrator
Posts: 583

To solve the issue with the GUID used in two parts of the code, you can create a 2nd column in the dataset and store GUIDs  with and without "curly braces." 
I created an enhancements request here .  It will be developed in v 4.0.
Thanks for pointing out this issue! As a token of appreciation for helping to make StresStimulus better, we reserved for you a free Weekly pass of StresStimulus Pro with 250 VUs. Just drop me a note at a time when you would want to start using it, and I will send you a serial number.
 
Best,
-Vadim




0 link
ter
ter
Posts: 12


8/27/2014
ter
ter
Posts: 12
Another great suggestion that solves both issues. The enhancement request will be useful to anyone testing Ajax/JSON heavy applications. Thank you Vadim.
0 link
Vadim @StresStimulus
Vadim @StresStimulus
Administrator
Posts: 583


9/9/2014
Vadim @StresStimulus
Vadim @StresStimulus
Administrator
Posts: 583
This feature was developed in the new beta revision posted today
0 link






Copyright © 2017 Stimulus Technology